Go To Search
Click to Home

View All Posts

Mar 13

Awards Season

Posted on March 13, 2014 at 12:04 PM by Craig Jacobson

Untitled Document

Want to know what’s latest and greatest in children’s literature? Check out the ALA Youth Media Award Winners for 2014!

Flora Ulysses.jpgFlora & Ulysses by Kate DiCamillo
Won the: Newbery Medal (Children’s Literature)

It begins, as the best superhero stories do, with a tragic accident that has unexpected consequences. The squirrel never saw the vacuum cleaner coming, but self-described cynic Flora Belle Buckman, who has read every issue of the comic book Terrible Things Can Happen to You!, is the just the right person to step in and save him. What neither can predict is that Ulysses (the squirrel) has been born anew, with powers of strength, flight, and misspelled poetry — and that Flora will be changed too, as she discovers the possibility of hope and the promise of a capacious heart. – from the Publisher

Four Newbery Honor Books were also named:
Doll Bonesby Holly Black
The Year of Billy Miller by Kevin Henkes
One Came Home by Amy Timberlake
Paperboy by Vince Vawter

Locomotive Brian Floca.jpgLocomotiveby Brian Floca
Won the: Caldecott Medal (Children’s Picture Book)

It all started with "a new road of rails/made for people to ride" where "covered wagons used to crawl." Almost 150 years ago-just after the Civil War-the completion of the transcontinental railway radically changed both this country's landscape and the opportunities of its people. The book traces the advent of cross-country train travel, focusing on an early trip from Omaha to Sacramento … smoothly [integrating] descriptions of the structure and mechanics of the locomotive, tasks of crew members, passing landscapes, and experiences of passengers. – from School Library Journal

Three Caldecott Honor Books were named this year:
Journey, written and illustrated by Aaron Becker
Flora and the Flamingo, written and illustrated by Molly Idle
Mr. Wuffles!, written and illustrated by David Wiesner

Midwinterblood.jpgMidwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick
Won the: Printz Award (Young Adult Literature)

Seven stories of passion and love separated by centuries but mysteriously intertwined—this is a tale of horror and beauty, tenderness and sacrifice. An archaeologist who unearths a mysterious artifact, an airman who finds himself far from home, a painter, a ghost, a vampire, and a Viking: the seven stories in this compelling novel all take place on the remote Scandinavian island of Blessed where a curiously powerful plant that resembles a dragon grows. What binds these stories together? What secrets lurk beneath the surface of this idyllic countryside? And what might be powerful enough to break the cycle of midwinterblood? –from the publisher

Four Printz Honor Books were named as well:
Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal
Maggot Moonby Sally Gardner
Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool

Want more awards? A selection of highlights can be found here, while the full list of ALA Annual Youth Media Awards can be found on their website.